Honda CRX Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am extremely new to anything CRX, and only know basics in terms of automotive knowledge, but I will try to be as detailed as possible in describing my issue.
I recently bought a red 87 CRX Si in decent condition; running, a rough idle, cosmetically imperfect but certainly not an eyesore.
I drove it about 200 miles the day I bought it to my hometown. It got a little warm going uphill, though never reached H, and I noticed the fuel economy was not spectacular (about 140mi on half a tank). So I thought I'd do some tuning up.

After stopping by the auto parts store, I sit down and try to start my car. Super amateur mistake; I left the clutch engaged, in 2nd gear, and tried to turn the engine. It jolted, stopped, and I pressed on the brakes. Turned the key "Off" and thought about how silly that was. Pressed the clutch pedal, made sure it was in neutral, and tried to start again. But now no lights are coming on when the key is turned. No power to anything. Not even the hazard lights are working.
I'm on a downhill road, so I thought maybe the battery died and I'd try to give it a rolling start. I give it some momentum, pop the clutch; the engine turns, but still no lights, no throttle response. I brake, find some curb, and mourn for a moment.

A few days later, I went ahead to clean the battery terminals, replace my cap and rotor, and spark plugs. A neighbor offers to help jump start my car with a portable starter (the battery reads "good"). When he connects it to my car, the lights are on. The moment I turn the key to start, nothing happens. I couldn't really hear for a starter solenoid clicking, but I'm also not sure where that would come from.

I checked all my fuses in the box under the dash; all good. I checked the 3 large fuses under the hood above the air intake (45/45/55A) and they're all good too.