Honda CRX Forum banner
1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Administrator
16,557 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Here's my dilemma. I'm very much wanting to get rid of my auto/dpfi, I've been tolerating it for more than 5 years now. I never did the MPFI swap on the premise that I would save money and do a full swap all at once. But that keeps getting pushed back, and frankly I'm tired of waiting. I could afford a B16 swap, with the auto-manual conversion, and have it done in time for the Florida meet. Or, wait a couple extra months and go with a GSR swap early next year. I'm actually eyeing a 180hp JDM GSR swap, since it's the same price on HMO. So I guess the question is, will I be satisfied with a B16 (compared to my D15B2 I guess anything would be fantastic), or should I wait for the B18C?

·
Premium Member
4,516 Posts
If its only a matter of waiting I'd say go b18.
Maybe a lil less RPMs but more torque= fun in my book. :D

·
Registered
1,298 Posts
JDM GSR FTW. And go with the LSD option, you wont regret it for a second, as for lower RPMs, I take my JDM B18C to 8 grand, I dont think you can go any higher w/a standard B16.
On the upside for the B16 though you have whats probably one of the best balanced motors ever made, and if you do decide to go with it, get one that has the YS1 transmission, it has a much lower final drive than the OBD0 versions, which translates into having much better fuel economy, and for the record, the JDM GSR trans also has a really good cruising final drive as well.

·
Registered
2,472 Posts
mattminerDOTcom said:
B18C > B16A...for the win.

The GSR motor really is significantly better then the B16. If you think you can do it, go for it. I havent been dissapointed yet.

[email protected]