Honda CRX Forum banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Guys,

I'm still very new to crx's and to this forum but i've been driving my'90 dx for a few months now and i really love it. I'm used to driving a 7k lb SUV with 220 hp so the stock dx is a blast.

The 1.5 D15 is definately getting tired though with over 200k miles and i would really like a little more power. The rex is my DD and needs to stay that way.

Any quick opinions on what would be the best swap for the money. I know the b16 is popular but sometime i have considered just the d16a6 SI motor with a header and exhaust.
also, all said and done what is a realistic price for either of these swaps?

Thanks.

·
Registered
428 Posts
For a daily driver, with no plans for super high end just more stop and go power for cheap:

B18A/B

It will make a night and day difference in torque (what you use to get off the line at a stoplight), and I've heard may accounts of this swap getting up to 40MPG.

Plus, neither of these are VTEC so there is less demand AND they are easier to wire (less complex).

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Any idea what a complete b18a/b swap would cost in parts?

Also, what would a honda shop typically charge to do the swap?

I just purchased a complete a/c system for my crx and before i go to the trouble of installing it on the d15 w/200k...i'm wondering if i should hold off and try to do a cheap simple swap.

·
Registered
88 Posts
I love my d16a6 with header and intake. Its a fun dd. I plan on doing a swap in a year or so but im staying in the family and going to do a d16z6/y8 boosted. My friend in colorado had a 93 hatch with a d16z6 with header and intake and that car was quick ecspecially the vtec was awesome.

·
Registered
1,463 Posts
yo cruiserhead where in va u live?