Honda CRX Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a T304 stainless steel cat back with a 4" fart can I want to cut off. I've finally found a dual outlet pipe I can bolt onto the 2 1/4" pipe if I can just cut the can off.

I've never tried to cut stainless steel before. I'd prefer to leave the cat back on the car while I cut it and I have no oxy-acetyline equipment anyway. The steel seems to be about 1/16 thick.

I have a jig saw I can get a hacksaw blade to fit - I also have a dremel with cutting wheels. Are either of these any good or do I need something more sturdy? Should I plan on lubricating as I cut?

Any ideas please?

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,670 Posts
yeah it just stainless pipe ,cuts the same as any other exhaust pipe ,i wouldent use a jig saw though ,kinda think it would be dangerous ,do you have a sawz all ?? IM THINKING NOT SINCE YOU WOULD HEAVE MENTIONED lol whoops sorry for the caps um even a grinder with a cutting disk will work and ive done it on mine many times lol ,all you do it cut one side then the other

good luck and post pics when you done :wink:

·
Registered
289 Posts
mattminerDOTcom said:
the dremel would suck, but a hacksaw, sawzall, cutoffwheel, anything like that should work great.
What he said ... a plain old hand hacksaw with a fresh blade should work just fine. Put some oil on the cut as you go to keep from overheating the blade, especially if you're using a powered saw.

I've always found the dremel cutoff wheels to be too fragile, not worth the trouble for anything other than really small work. On the other hand, I'm fond of using a carbide dremel cutter to hack a slot in the side of a nut that won't come off ... those thing will cut right into just about anything.

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·