Honda CRX Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey whats up community, I'm new to the community so this is my quick intro: I'm a 19 year college student who just recently purchased a 89 crx Si. I love the feeling of the rex but i need more power. i was thinking about swaping the engine for a b17A but i have no idea if this is a good idea or if i would even gut a good power upgrade from this engine. any communts would be appriciated. Thanks sorry for the long post :oops:

·
Registered
20,330 Posts
1st off, the b17 is a good engine, but have heard they have weak bottom ends. You seem like you are new to this "Honda Hobby", so what would seemingly make you choose a random & rare motor as the b17? They were only produced for 92-93 Integra Gsr's, being that they were produced in somewhat limited quantities (i have read 900 a year, so 1800 cars over the 2 model years).

I'm not saying they cannot be found and this cannot be done, but you seem like you have little knowledge about Hondas, so picking an easier motor to find might be the better option.

You also have to ask yourself a few questions:
What do you want/expect as far as power for the car?
How much do you have to spend?
How much are you willing to spend?

Many options out there, find the answers to those questions and read up and do some research. Just know what you are getting into.
What are you looking to do with it, daily driver, auto-x, Etc...?

·
Registered
912 Posts
baker423 said:
but you seem like you have little knowledge about Hondas, so picking an easier motor to find might be the better option.
Ouch. ease up. nothin wrong with being unique. if he can get a hold of one, may as well for the difference factor.

·
Registered
20,330 Posts
Tiersin said:
baker423 said:
but you seem like you have little knowledge about Hondas, so picking an easier motor to find might be the better option.