Honda CRX Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
820 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
how hard would it be for an almost total noob to replace the bearings in the l3 hf transmission? would it be worth the time/trouble and what is the potential for totally ruining the tranny?

·
Registered
632 Posts
I've done a few input shaft bearings, I'm not looking forward to anymore.
I always seem to have to fight with getting the case that last 1/4 inch back together. :evil:

·
Registered
289 Posts
I did this to my Si years ago. It's not that hard if you are very organized about making sure everything gets back together again properly. Don't try this if you are no good at reassembling chinese puzzles.

I ended up doing it twice because I replaced both mainshaft bearings and I got the big one (end opposite the clutch) in backwards. Well that bearing only has thrust flanges in one direction, so if you put it in backwards the center race and balls just push out the end due to the side load from the helical cut gears. Fortunately I didn't go far before realizing things were in trouble so all I ended up screwing up was the 5th gear syncro.

Get the service manual (I know there's links to it online from this site)

Clean the outside of the case before you open it (wd40 or similar spray lube and a roll of papertowels works well)

Borrow a digicam and takes a bunch of pictures as you go so you get all the bearings back in the correct way.

I think you need a decent pair of snap ring pliars to remove the ring that retains the countershaft end bearing in the case

Replace the input shaft and axles seals too, they're cheap and you'll kick yourself if you have to do it later.

Don't forget to check the clutch and the flywheel end crank seal while you've got everything apart.

If you're putting a new clutch in, do it while you have the tranny torn apart and you can use the mainshaft as a clutch alighment tool 8)